The Witch’s soup

He throws in the lizard legs to make her invisible when the need arises. I stir for the first hour, chanting the words. He adds hippopotamus fat, rotten eggs and a pinch of salt. He stirs the next hour and calls me when it turns purple.

I blow my nose and let the contents slide into the mixture. “What’s that for master?” the apprentice asks me, face full of expectation. I look at him long and hard. I want to lie but decide not to. “It’s for all the nasty things she is going to do to you”

 

for the 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#64

12 thoughts on “The Witch’s soup

  1. Very clever and funny. A great demonstration of how you even the shortest piece, with the best-chosen words, can evoke a whole world.

Leave a Reply

